logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for GSI Coffee Pot 6 Cup Stovetop reviews.
You can find all GSI Coffee Pot 6 Cup Stovetop reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For GSI Coffee Pot 6 Cup Stovetop, 164 customer reviews collected from 1 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.2.

Detailed seller stats;
Amazon has 164 customer reviews and the average score is 4.2. Go to this seller.

Similar Items

26.4.2011

Overall, this is a solid percolator. After my electric drip coffee machine stopped working, I decided to get a coffee maker that didn't take up so much room and didn't require electricity. I looked at a variety of percolators and espresso makers on Amazon, and found many of them (according to reviews) were hit or miss. For the percolators, many reviewers commented on how the percolator dome was made -- if it was made with plastic, it easily melted, or if it was glass it broke within a few weeks.One of the major pluses to the GSI Glacier stainless steel percolator is that its percolator dome is made of a composite material that has high heat resistance, won't shatter like glass and does not contain BPA (while the plastic domes probably do). Also, after researching espresso makers, I found that some were made of aluminum, and after doing research on this I found that it's not always a good idea (for health reasons) to cook in aluminum. Another positive feature of the GSI Glacier is that it is made completely of stainless steel. Also, the handle is made of a material that does not heat up. Finally, this percolator is just designed very well -- it has an appealing look and can produce ample amounts of coffee. I've used it for about a week now and it's easy to clean and simple to set up for coffee. Also, the entire unit is safe to put in the dishwasher. The only downside is that you can sometimes get a few coffee grinds in the bottom of the pot; however, it's usually a very small amount that sits in the bottom and can be avoided. If you are looking for a high-quality, reliable percolator that can brew a good cup o' coffee, I would definitely recommend this one. The other reviews sold me on this one, and I haven't been disappointed thus far. I am definitely satisfied with the taste of percolator coffee. As another reviewer mentioned, there is an art to brewing coffee with a percolator; I've found using a low flame and only letting the coffee perc for 2-3 minutes works well. Cheers!
Read more..

26.6.2018

I bought this percolator specifically for a camping trip, but figured it would be beneficial to use it regularly in advance so I can dial in exactly how to use it; after using it daily for the past few weeks, I can safely say I love this product. Ironically, I'd had my heart set on a different percolator, but it went out of stock when I was ready to purchase, so after an exhaustive search, the GSI Glacier seemed like a reasonable compromise,the only differences between this pot and the other I'd been looking at were the handle material (wood vs silicone), and the perk bulb (glass vs lexan). I really didn't have any reason for my handle preference aside from appearance, but I can now safely say I'm glad I ended up with the silicone material, this material is far superior in its ability to insulate from heat, even if I've left the percolator on the burner for an extended period of time (I've forgotten about it once or twice), I know I can pick up by the handle without burning myself, in fact, it's always remained cool to the touch, regardless of how hot the steel is. I did purchase a glass perk bulb directly from GSI, but the fit is almost too tight, I'm afraid I may either break the glass or irreparably damage the steel lid installing it, so I've opted to leaving the plastic bulb on for now. Given that this particular percolator will ultimately be used for camping trips, I can appreciate the added durability of the plastic bulb; I'll likely buy the larger size for home use, and reserve the glass replacement for that percolator. Overall this thing is awesome, quality is top notch, I have no complaints, and can't wait to show off my percolating skills in the field with the guys.
Read more..

22.8.2013

I purchased this coffee pot to replace my honey's old one that was beginning to wear away. It's been three years now and we're still using this pot daily. We do not use the percolator- only the pot itself. 'Cowboy coffee' is the result, but yum yum it's good! We don't wash the pot, so the center is 'seasoned' with coffee. It gives each cup a strong taste. You'll never have that metal or soapy aftertaste- only pure coffee.Over three years the pot has held up fairly well.The plastic cap is beginning to fall of fairly easily, but other than that the pot has remained sturdy. It hasn't rusted or shown any real signs of wear (aside from browning due to cooking over a fire). The rubber handle is nice because you won't burn when grabbing it. It's soft and cushiony and doesn't easily get hot. It also has a nice grip so wet hands won't let the pot slip to the ground. The lid easily opens and the nozzle easily pours. Even though we haven't actually washed the pot in three years, the nozzle has never clogged up with coffee grounds.The stainless steel design holds up really well and heats easily. It brings the water to a boil within just a few minutes. This is typical of thinner models (that wear out easily). But this model is thick and heats evenly. So convenient! Especially when cooking on a campfire.The pot hasn't warped at all due to fluctuating heats. This was an issue with one of our other pots. The problem hasn't been evident in this model at all.Overall- love this pot! I'm super thrilled with it and after 3 years can honestly say it's one of the best coffee accessories I've owned.
Read more..

11.2.2016

Great pot! I used a percolator filter in the basket, put in the coffee grounds (ground Dunkin Donuts original) and let the excess filter paper hang outside the pot. I did not fold the tall sides of the filter back over onto itself inside the basket b/c I didn't want to impede the flow of water down over the grounds. I filled it up to the six-cup line, put it on the stove with the eye on high, and let it rip. Once it began percolating (I define percolating as water bubbling up into the clear knob atop the lid),I let it continue for five minutes. This was my first test run and it was flawless. The coffee was great with zero grounds at all. The only downside to this pot is that the clear viewing knob atop the lid will fall out when washing. I suspect this was by design, but I'll probably put a rubber o-ring around it on the inside of the lid to keep it from falling out. The build quality and the materials are excellent. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a percolator for camping (or home) or as a tea kettle. I found this when I was searching for a tea kettle but every review had complaints about rusting. I cannot imagine that this pot will ever rust which is why I bought this particular one.
Read more..

4.11.2016

Perfect. Thru many trials of different grounds and various percolating minutes, I have arrived at the perfect cup of coffee with this pot. First of all put the desired amount of water that you would need for the cup you are using and add perhaps another tablespoon or so for evaporation. Next for the coffee, put in two scoops per cup of THE MOST COURSE GRIND of coffee you are using. This is very important. Then when you are ready, put the pot onto the burner at medium-high heat until it starts to perk.After it starts to perk, lower the heat to its lowest setting and keep it perking for 5 minutes. I use a timer for this. You should now have the perfect cup of coffee. I cannot take credit for this process. It came from many searches on the internet and time and error attempts until I was satisfied with the results.Now having said all of the above, this pot is well made and extremely durable. Cleans up well and I think I will buy another one, except it will be larger, because now everyone in my family wants to joined for coffee.
Read more..

15.7.2020

This review is for the six-cup coffee pot.Last year was our first year tent camping, and we figured it would be nice to have coffee in the morning so I borrowed a propane stove from a friend and bought a cheap percolator from a big building supply chain. That percolator lasted all of one day, I couldn't get it to percolate consistently and the handles were all metal so... let's just say I burnt myself and swore a lot. That coffee pot ended up in the dumpster on day one.For this year I gave it another shot and bought this percolator.When it arrived my wife said "isn't that the same as the last one?" but there were a couple important differences. First, even though this pot is still relatively flimsy, the stainless steel gauge used is significantly thicker than the economy pots. Second, the silicone surrounding the handle actually works! Although the handle was pretty small, I was able to pour coffee without needing a hot pad and without burning myself. Big win in my book!
Read more..

15.2.2020

I was using a Farberware 8 cup percolator to make my coffee while camping. I recently began hot tenting and making my coffee on a wood burning stove. I began looking for a new percolator as the Farberware one had a hard plastic handle and I was worried about the handle melting on the stove. I found this GSI 6 cup and thought I'd give it a whirl. For one thing the coffee actually tastes better. I'm not sure why but it does. I also like that it has a silicon heat resistant handle so I don't have to worry about it melting on me.While camping I use a fairly large Yeti coffee cup and a hydro flask coffee cup. This percolator fills both cups once. If I want a second cop I just fill the pot back up and boil a second pot. The pot is much lighter in weight and takes up far less space than my old Farberware one did. I highly recommend this pot if just making coffee for one or two people.
Read more..

7.9.2013

This 9 cup percolator is perfect for my RV with limited space but would be a bit weighty for backpacking. GSI makes excellent products. The coffee pot appears to be well made. If there is any change I would make it would be the use of a micro screen paperless filter rather than the metal filter that is standard on these types of coffee pots. I ordered 3 inch filter disks to use within metal filter which should work fine. DO NOT order the micro screen filter advertised on Amazon as "Perma-Brew 3 Year Re-useable Coffee Filter,Disk" because it is too small. As to other reviews, don't focus on the negative reviews. I don't agree with any of them. As to the one regarding "made in China" - what isn't today. I'd buy American if we could put out a quality, reasonably priced product such as this GSI Outdoors product but we don't.
Read more..

21.6.2018

I received this coffee pot very quickly. This is a great little 6 cup coffee pot ,made of stainless steel,easy to clean ,makes great coffee.I haven't used a stove perk coffee pot in many years but glad I bought this one. Coffee taste great perked on the stove and you can let it perk longer to get strong or less perking for weaker coffee. It doesn't want to make less than 2 cups and you do have to spend the time watching the pot as you must turn the fire way down when it starts perking and set thetimer .I am retired and do have the time it takes to make a great cup of coffee with this little pot.. I cut down a brown filter to fit into the basket..Still learning with this coffee pot .I like the variety it offers and love the smell of coffee perking from it.
Read more..

9.11.2010

I really like this coffee pot! I've just started camping for the first time and had read many reviews on all sorts of coffee pots, so I knew what to look out for. I've made coffe over an open fire, on a grill 3X and have had no problems. I did read that the plastic knobe on top could melt, well if you use common sence it won't. It will get dirty, I haven't tried the trick about rubbing dish soap on the outside of the pot for easy clean up so, I just use metal polish when I return home and it looks brand new.Also the inside stem is very strong and sturdy, it doesn't move when your trying to add the grounds. I forgot how good perked coffee is, especially while sitting around a open fire.
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy