logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for Esbit Alcohol Burner reviews.
You can find all Esbit Alcohol Burner reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For Esbit Alcohol Burner, 114 customer reviews collected from 2 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.6.

Detailed seller stats;
Amazon has 113 customer reviews and the average score is 4.6. Go to this seller.
Bikester has 1 customer reviews and the average score is 5. Go to this seller.

Similar Items

1.11.2015

Wow such a power house in such a small package. I got this as an alternative for cooking while car camping and for a possible future kayak camping trip yet this saved my butt recently when I was tent camping and the temps dropped about 20 degrees below what was expected over night. I awoke to temps in the high 20's! My butane was too cold to use and wouldn't fire up in my portable stove but this little guy saved me by quickly heating my water for coffee. Once I have coffee in the morning I can function again!So very small and handy. I used 91% isopropyl in mine and it worked great. The fire flares up higher than anticipated and did leave some sooty marks on my pots but that quickly cleaned up later and who cares as I got my coffee in very short order! Can't wait to use this again next week camping and I"ll be using it for more than coffee this time. The flow/damper cover with handle makes this mini stand out from others to me! The small size and versatility make this something I won't be caught without while camping again!
Read more..

12.9.2013

I have been a long time user of home made alcohol stoves. I finally bit the bullet and purchased a name brand stove.I like the ability to seal the stove without loosing fuel. I also like the simmer ring. What I dont like is the yellow flame, indicates incomplete combustion. My home made ones burn nice and blue. So it still seems a trade off. Possibly the OTHER name brand burner does better in this reguard.Update:I just did a boil test and the pepsi can stove boils in 5 minutes, where the Esbit boils in 8 minutes.The down side of the pepsi can stove is, once it is lit, there is no shutting it off, so you just wait till it burns out. The Esbit, which is a Trangia knock off(the big name brand) has a lid that you can snuff it out. So you MAY save some fuel. The other thing the Esbit has is a simmer ring. Basically you just block off some of the stove.Even though the Esbit has some extra features, it has a longer boil time, so do you really save fuel? The pepsi can stove seems to be the way to go! $16 VS free!
Read more..

31.8.2013

I dropped my Trangia on a trip to the High Unitas Primitive Area and popped open a seam. I decided to replace it with the Esbit. Trangia is made in Sweden and I like that. When the Esbit arrived the package said that it was made in China. The metal was thinner than the Trangia and had a generally cheaper appearance. That surprised me a little since the Esbit is more expensive than the Trangia. On the upside, the Esbit functions perfectly. Holds alcohol without any hint of a leak,and it's lighter weight than the Trangia. My Trangia when empty weighs 107.5 grams. The Esbit weighs in at 98 grams, and pulling the useless little wire bail off of the temperature control lid drops the weight to just over 96 grams. So if you're OCD about weight and like doing the UL thing, this might appeal to you. I use the Caldera Cone and get fantastic results with these little alcohol stoves. I'm still a huge fan of the Swede thing, but 11 grams is 11 grams, and now I can carry an additional 1/4 oz of bling!
Read more..

9.5.2016

This is my first meths burner so I cannot compare it to its direct competitors. Previously I have used gas canisters. The latter are much quicker at heating food/fluid but are relatively noisy. Also it can be difficult to tell how much fuel is remaining in a canister. This could catch you out on multi-day trips. In contrast this meths burner is super quiet and it is easy to keep tabs on fuel consumption. As a few extra minutes cooking time is not an issue for me,I will be using this little gem from now on; especially for bushcrafting where I don't want the noise of a gas burner spoiling the tranquility. The lid appears to seal well and I've had no issue with fuel leaking from the burner in transit. It's a doddle to use and I'm very happy with it.
Read more..

18.4.2013

Once you see the potential, the uses are not limited. For the compact size, weight, cost, burn time, heat produced ... I have NO Problem with this. I am not an ultra-light purist. If I can't carry an extra pound, I don't need to be on the trail. For the sheer multi-tasking capability of using different forms of cooking platform this type of stove is perfect for me. It works perfectly well with my Sterno Single Burner Folding Stove, Emergency Quick Stove, Bemco Backpacker Oven.I would imagine this would work well with any of the other small and light weight box type stoves as well. So depending on my needs I have multiple “Stable” platforms to cook from. Also I don’t have to rely on the one fuel source.
Read more..

22.3.2013

I have used this pimarily to heat water in a 1 1/2 liter covered pot. I flip my fold up wood burning Wonder Stove over and use the bottom for a wind shield and pot stand. I boil approx 1 liter of water in 6 or 8 minutes. With these alcohol burners you must control the wind. It is very easy to have the heat blown out from under your pot. The pressurized caniser stoves will heat faster but make a hissing noise that I don't care for. The temp control cover has a fold out handle which is great!So far the seal is holding fuel without leaking. I have a separate fuel bottle for extra safe and leak proof fuel transport. The little handle makes this one worth the extra dollar...
Read more..

3.12.2013

This small alcohol stove is good for pack backing, hiking , an emergency pack, a woods walk or even a picnic. I carry fuel in mine and it has come in handy a few times when food needs to be cooked or heated up while on an adventurous outting. This is especially true when you don't want smoke or can not have a fire in the area you area in. A simple windbreak will be needed most of the time but that can easily be made from a can with both ends cut out. The can might have to be cut down but it worked for me.I also keep a sheet of aluminum foil fold up and stored with it for an emergency wind screen or cooking accessory.
Read more..

10.7.2013

After a test run before hitting the trail. This work flawlessly! It is simpler than my MSR whisperlight and is perfect for backpack camping. It heats well, I like the wired handle on the flame regulator/ flame snuffer. This is a nice improvement over the Tangia. Brass construction and fits well in the Esbit Ultralight Folding Stainless Steel Pot Stand. It is lightweight and compact.It goes without saying that alcohol stoves put out an near invisible flame during the day. Be smart and know what is going on.If you forget, you can catch something on fire or burn yourself. Be smarter than the average bear! LOL
Read more..

23.3.2012

I have owned only one stove since 1986, the SVEA Climber. It recently sprung a leak after a test burn before the summer. I purchased this stove as a replacement. I highly recommend this stove for its simplicity. No priming in warm climate. I do recommend getting a good stand to use with it.I have tried many options for stands. I like the ebayed windscreen that I bought in addition to this stove to use as a stand. Runs very well with the walmart purchased yellow heat bottle.I should mention,I have had one alcohol stove and a few solid fuel stoves that I have never used. I stored them for emergency.
Read more..

24.2.2014

Pro: This is a good little stove for emergency or bare bones camping use. It is very simple to setup and use. You can store a meals worth of fuel IN the stove. It's very inexpensive compared to my other camp stoves.Con: It could be dangerous. There is nothing to keep the flammable/burning liquid in the stove should the stove tip. It doesn't heat as well as a (far more expensive) whisperlite or (far heavier) colman.This is a great stove for 1-2 people rudimentary camping. It won't work for large groups.Something like the MSR Heat Exchanger on your pot make this stove far more effective.
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy