logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for Trangia Spirit Burner with Screwcap reviews.
You can find all Trangia Spirit Burner with Screwcap reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For Trangia Spirit Burner with Screwcap, 236 customer reviews collected from 1 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.8.

Detailed seller stats;
Amazon has 236 customer reviews and the average score is 4.8. Go to this seller.

Similar Items

28.9.2011

It's true, I do. This is -not- an unbiased review.Trangia burners last for ever. They are slow, need a priming pan mid winter, can be a pain to get to simmer and there are lighter stoves out there now. Pepsi can penny stoves are about as cheap and light as you can get, and if you build them properly are darn good too.This is just the burner. It needs a pan rack and wind shield as well. I bought this as a backup/second unit for my Swedish Military kit so if one burner runs out, just light the second one,transfer the wind shield across and carry on. I could/should plan my fuelling better :-)For making your own cookset, either a Trangia or Penny stove is perfect. Lets face it, there is nothing to go wrong. I don't do backpacking or bicycle touring, but do enjoy solo touring on my motorbike and to me, there is nothing more pleasant than being in the middle of nowhere with silence as company, watching the blue flame.The forced relaxed pace over a gas stove adds to it for me. Add to that they almost never go wrong, are cheap to fuel and as simple as a stone.Yes, I am a zealot. Those who used to use them and went to gas only regale me with tales of how good theirs was. Gas users mock us, but remain fascinated by our stoves and the rituals we perform to make our brew. More than once I've had "I've got to get one of those"Come, join us on the slow side and see why we reject so many whizzo turbo flames having tried them and keep returning to our beloved Trangia and Optimus Primus type 96 stoves.
Read more..

23.11.2012

I've always fancied one of these, but never bothered getting one, always used gas. Since getting serious about wildcamping and hillwalking I decided to give a Trangia a go and I love it, it's now my main stove.These are almost indestructible, a beautifully simple design that has lasted. You pour a small amount of meths into the reservoir, screw the top on and stick it in your pocket - they don't leak. When lit, they take a minute to settle down, then act like a gas ring. Cheap, ever lasting,fuel is cheap, functional. For anyone thinking of getting one of these for the first time, do be aware that the Trangia is just a burner, you have to support your pan / kettle on something additional. Generally used with army mug / windproof shield / stand kit, I find these too large and so use my Trangia with a Honey Stove which, combined, makes a brilliant setup comparable with any gas affairs my mates carry. Obviously you can make a stand out of rocks, sticks, small hole in the ground, etc.Meths is about £2 a bottle and that lasts me about 5 weekends, maybe more.One tip to try is adding 10% water to your meths, it makes for a hotter, cleaner burn and eliminates soot deposits.Just running some real life tests as I have never timed things before and a full Trangia just burned for an amazing 36 mins and boiled over half a pint of water (a standard mug) in 4:30 mins on pure meths and 3:50 using 90%/10%, both using the Honey Stove 4 plate configuration with the Trangia on the mid setting.
Read more..

4.5.2012

Bought this for Leeds Festival this year since they don't allow aerosol-based stoves in the camping grounds. The beauty of this bit of kit lies in its simplicity. It's made out of pressed brass, comes with a lid and, in this case, the little flame adjuster that you normally would have to buy seperately with the cheaper stoves. I'd looked at the full sets that don't require anything else to cook with (Google "Swedish Mess Kit" for a full kit)but decided I couldn't afford the lot.There are some excellent tutorials out there on how to make pot stands and windshields for these burners, I found a Youtube search of "Trangia Stove DIY" provided some brilliant ideas on how to make your own cookset on the cheap.Combining this cracking little burner with a home-made pot-stand/windshield, I had four cups of water on a rolling boil in about ten minutes, and could easily have warmed up a tin of beans, etc. in about five minutes.Of course, you can buy the full kits, and I would certainly recommend Trangia's products for their quality. However, if you've got a bit of time on your hands, and want to save a bit of money, it only took an old paint-tin and half an hour with a drill to make a very reasonable stand/shield.Very highly recommended, good robust little stove, very easy to use and very flexible in terms of how you want to set it up.
Read more..

10.12.2017

Very good alcoholstove. Can't really go wrong with this in my opinion.It will hold a fair amount of alcohol. I have forgotten how much, but it's close to what my extra bottle can hold, so roughly 120 ml inside the Trangia. The rubberseal works very well, and you can infact transport the Trangia with alcohol in it. I've done that before, worked fine. Beside that, I just carry another 120 ml. of alcohol in a small bottle. Important NOT to use the lid with the seal to put out the fire,so you don't ruin the rubberseal. Whats also so great about the Trangia is that its small, lightweight and it's really cheap to run, compared to gasstoves.I have done a series of burntests, and the burntime depend alot on the conditions. Tests done without simmerring.Tests were done with 93% Ethanol, denatured. And boiled in a pathfinder cup, ontop of a Lixada folding woodstove.For comparison:30 ml. of alcohol will burn for 8 minutes INSIDE and bring 500 ml. of water up to 95 Celsius30 ml. of alcohol will burn for 7 minutes OUTSIDE and bring 500 ml. of water up to 80 Celsius40 ml. of alcohol will burn for 8 min. 30 sec. OUTSIDE and bring 500 ml. of water up to 95 CelsiusA full Trangia will burn for 25-30 min. OUTSIDE
Read more..

8.6.2020

I love cooking with trangia alcohol stoves, I've cooked all kinds in the outdoors using trangia alcohol stoves, steak and ale stews, stir fry , curry, steak, burgers on my YouTube channel Gaziano Outdoors.I suggest buying a windshield to go with it as the wind will make your fuel burn down quicker, these stoves are so small and lightweight just add meths or bio-ethanol to the trangia and light, weight a minute for it to bloom then you are ready to go,you will need a cooking stand though for your pot before you can cook.You can even use 3 or 4 tent pegs to rest your pot on over a trangia.I like how quiet these stoves are compared to most gas stoves so good for stealth camping , gas stoves can sound really loud in the woods at night or in the morning.My favourite way to cook is using alcohol stoves outdoors, so relaxing and easy to use, you can pick the fuel up at a low price too in bulk.I'm pleased with the purchase, highly recommend trangia alcohol stoves they will last year's , quiet, lightweight, compact, little stoves!!
Read more..

27.10.2014

Excellent little stove. I got two. I have a Campingaz stove, and a stand alone Go System type, but I wish I'd known about these Trangia ones. Watched the You Tube vids, and I'm gutted at buying the more larger ones. Man you can put one in your pocket. Bergen coming next. So I feel a pure clown for ordering the other stoves. Lesson learned. These wee stoves fit into the top of a can of soup. So for a burning ring, just find someone who has a saw that can cut cans in half, and off you go.Tuna Fish cans would work I think, no need to cut them in half. Though you'd need to cut bottom off. I'd bury mine, then put the ring on, more stable, no need for sitting holdings pans.Well worth the money. Plus some of the vids I watched the guys were using one's that were like 15 years old, still going strong.Fuel is cheaper than Bluet gas. In fact just go right a head and get one. Then you'll get another. You won't need anymore, as they last.Sincerely...Paul Glancy.
Read more..

15.6.2020

I can't fault it really! Does what it says it does, very slight leakage once but I think that's more to do with me not screwing the lid on quite tight enough. Nice hot flame, blooms quickly. For those who don't know that much about alcohol/meths stoves, the difference between this and the cheaper knock-offs is usually mostly about the wick inside. I don't know what it's made from but this just seems far superior to every other burner I've used or made. Many others that look the same don't have any wick at all inside the wall.It's a bit heavier than others, but it feels like it could last a lifetime. Also, being a reputable brand, any spare parts are relatively easy to come by rather than just replacing it if something does go wrong. Also, compatible windscreens etc are likely to be made to the Trangia's specification due to its popularity. For quickly brewing up, pretty much this is the quickest and easiest way I have.
Read more..

9.5.2013

They've been making these brass Trangia burners in Sweden for donkey's years. Since 1925. With practically no change in design. Why? Because it's a classic. Not the speediest burner, (gas canister stoves are much quicker, like the MSR Pocket Rocket), certainly not the lightest, (Evernew titanium stoves are pretty good but don't have a screw top lid), though it's pretty light really, but certainly one of the most durable. You can stand on it, (unlike a hobo coke-can ultralight spirit burner).And the best thing is that it has a screw cap, which means you can carry a day or two's fuel with you in it. And if you don't use all the fuel you can keep it in there for next time. Holes get clogged up? Use a pin. Adjust heat/flame size by rotating the top cap. Close cap to turn it off. The Swedish military have used these for nearly 100 years. Easy and simple. It works. The Land Rover of stoves.
Read more..

22.5.2012

At home worked very well. Very simple design and highly functional it delivers a awful lot of heat and it is extremely light in weight. If you use this Triangia combined with a windscreen, such as a military stove, the fuel will burn faster due to the high temperature reached within the enclosure. I cooked a meal today and it works perfectly. The only downside is the cost of the fuel and its smell. 2 Litres of Methylated spirits in Uk are sold at £20. The smell of burned Methylated can be a problem as it tends to irritate the norsills,and eyes, so ensure you are in a ventilated area when using Triangia, or put the stove outside your tent regardless of the weather conditions, otherwise better use a different kind of fuel like pure alcohol which is odorless.
Read more..

25.12.2013

This is a very lightweight methylated spirit burner. Using a readily available fuel which can be got from chemists and online from DIY stores. I use this with the Trangia triangle and together they make a very compact stove that does not blow out and will burn constantly for a decent time. I keep mine in a ziplock bag inside my billy can. Filled full before a short day trip I managed to make a tin of soup and boil a half can of water for both tea and cleaning up stuff. Had well in excess of 2/3rds left.I'd imagine 20-30 mins of continual burning. But after I'd set up my camp fire it gets put out. Easy to light and refill. Smells a bit if kept in a pack without being able to air it! Prefered over those gas canisters any day! Recommended! PCS
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy