logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for UCO Original Candle Lantern reviews.
You can find all UCO Original Candle Lantern reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For UCO Original Candle Lantern, 618 customer reviews collected from 3 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.2.

Detailed seller stats;
Addnature has 3 customer reviews and the average score is 4.3. Go to this seller.
Amazon has 612 customer reviews and the average score is 4.2. Go to this seller.
Ebay has 3 customer reviews and the average score is 4.3. Go to this seller.

Similar Items

6.10.2011

Packs down to about the same size as a small soft drinks can. Light enough for all but the extreme lightweight crowd for camping. There is something quite special about candle light for relaxing with. The lantern puts out just enough light to read by, and a small amount of radiant heat. Enough to warm cold fingers and just take the edge off a chilly tent.The bail+hook keep the lantern a safe distance vertically from your tent fabric. Horizontal separation is up to the users discretion. Still,safer than a totally naked flame.The low light is all you need in a tent plus the light cast is warm. I find LED lanterns very harsh. Great for 'doing stuff', lousy for when you're deliberately not doing anything :-)In my experience, the candles do last 9+ hours. The citronella candles keep the tent free from bugs, but you wouldn't want to burn a citronella in an enclosed tent for very long Give it half an hour before you settle, with the tent flaps open, and enjoy a mozzie free night.The beeswax candles on the other hand make the tent smell lovely, and the cast light is even nicer for doing nothing in. The silence compared to a roaring gas or paraffin lantern has to be appreciated too. There really is something quite civilised cooking using a silent stove whilst your lighting is silent too and you're in the back of beyond. For sitting around with your mates before turning in, a candle helps the conversation flow too without the harsh glare of LEDs or the roar of a mantle lantern. Again, the citronella will help keep the bugs away.For home use, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I find them quite attractive, especially in brass or plain aluminium. The same comments apply to the beeswax and citronella variants of the candles btw. Much safer than naked candle flames when you have children. On the subject of children, mine calm noticeably when I light candles and kill the main room lights.For an emergency light, they're great. For camping, they're great. Only the purchaser can make a value judgement. There is a micro version on the market as well which uses the cheaper tealight candle. Worth looking out for.You do need to apply common sense. The top of the chimney does get very hot. Hot enough to scorch unwary flesh. This is highlighted in the manual and is more obvious than the obvious fish, but I bet someone moans they burned their fingers on it. IT'S A FLAME!, FLAMES ARE HOT!.They are a truly lovely little product to have kicking about, blending modern and traditional design with good functionality, and as such, I highly commend them to the house.
Read more..

11.12.2017

I haven't used this all that much yet, so these are just my initial impressions.This item is a convenient and, I think, relatively safe way to use a candle. It packs down into a cylinder about four inches long, and isn't particularly heavy to carry. Once lit, it does seem relatively resistant to wind. There's only so much you can do with the light from a single candle, but it's a friendly and reassuring little light. Because the base doesn't get appreciably hot, it's safe to stand on must surfaces.There's also a hanger which can be used on its own, or with the short length of chain supplied. Mine was supplied with a single, parrafin candle, which has been problematic. However, based on other people's comments, I have ordered beeswax candles for future use. Although they are strikingly expensive, I won't use the unit often enough for expense to be a problem.The unit feels solid and well-made. However, raising and lowering the glass is scratchy, and feels badly designed. The instructions explain how to light the candle by lowering the glass, but don't explain how to put it out. You can put it out by lowering the glass but, by the time the candle has been in use for a while, the glass will be hot. Not so hot as to sear flesh on contact, but hot enough that you won't want to be touching it for long. So extinguishing the candle is a bit of a faff.I haven't yet had the much-reported problem of wax running down into the body and fouling the spring, but I've always been careful onto to keep it on a flat, level surface. The top of the casing does get very hot so, although I doubt that knocking the lantern over would be a fire hazard, I can see how it might melt your tent fabric.The advertising says that the lantern will reduce tent condensation. My experience is that combustion of any kind in a tent _increases_ condensation, because one of the by-products of combustion is water. However, it probably does warm the air just a little, so you might not notice the condensation so much.This lantern is far, far less convenient than a battery-powered one; but there's nothing like the gentle flicker of a candle flame for raising the mood.
Read more..

18.9.2012

I am totally pleased with this lantern. I have since purchased 4 more of them. I purchased one of the large models that holds four candles and three more of this small size. I use the small ones like this for hiking/camping. I also carry a very small crank flashlight. This lantern is light weight and small and packs comfortably inside by backpack. I carry one extra replacement candle. After 8 hiking/overnight camping trips, I am on my second candle.I purchased the beeswax candles which I absolutely prefer as they smell great and do not bother my lungs. The light is more than sufficient at night to set up my tent, get settled and set up my cooking supplies as well as for cooking as my tiny alcohol stove does not provide much light. I will confess that I have read with this light and it is enough for reading, but always get sleepy quite quickly, so I have not burned the candle light more than 3 hours from start to finish. When I leave it hanging inside my tent, it lights up my entire 2 man tent and it helps tremendously when I walk away from my camp site. Overall I am more than satisfied in my use of the lantern for hiking/camping. I also keep two of the small ones and the large one at home. I like to sit outside in my screened patio and read at home to candlelight. For reading at home I light up the large lantern, which provides an abundance of very soft light - and again the beeswax candles smell wonderful. The only down side of these lanterns is that the candles are a bit pricey. However, they do burn for quite a long time. The lantern does get hot and so take great care when using it to avoid burns. I have a powerful preference for 'very soft light' as most artificial light bothers my eyes. I read that the Ott light bulbs/lamps do not bother the eyesight and am going to try one of those. As a south Floridian, we are blessed that so many years have passed in my neighborhood without any hurricanes or power outages. However, when I do lose power at home, I will light up one of my UCO lanterns and go about my business. I highly recommend this product.
Read more..

28.2.2011

There is something special about candle light and this lantern gives candles much of the convenience of standard battery lanterns but does not duplicate their harsh glare and physical bulk. It packs up as a small cylinder that will find a place in any rucksack but quickly doubles in length when you prepare it for use. A hook and chain is included to help you hang this safely. The candle is contained in a cylindrical housing up which a simple spring feeds the candle as it burns.It's not the innovation that the manufacturer's hyperbole would suggest - I have two 60-year-old candlesticks that use an identical system -- but it is simple and effective. The candle, being protected from the wind (although a gust blew mine out on one occasion), burns steadily and should provide 9 hours of warm, yellow light. The candles are short and chubby and are sold in packs of three for around £5 - I haven't yet found any ordinary household candles that I could subsitute for these. Citronella candles are also available and I can see these being very useful in driving away midges.The lantern provides no more light than a single candle would - but that is sufficient for one or two people to eat, or even read, by. It does become hot on the top and this may help warm a chilly tent and drive off some condensation. I can't say that I have really noticed this effect to any great extent. Of course, extra care must be taken with any candle inside a tent and the hot surface of this holder should not be allowed to come into contact with the tent fabric.The construction of lantern is effective and not over-engineered but it is difficult to imagine quite why it costs over £20. I think that it is difficult to justify buying one of these in terms of need: if you like candle light however, then buy one of these to add a touch of homely luxury to your camping.
Read more..

29.8.2016

I bought this thing because it looked cool and the reviews were mainly positive. So after I got it, I put it right to use. I took it apart and experimented with all the different ways I could use it and what gear it compliments.I usually camp lite. Not exactly a minimalist but my pack is almost always under 30 lbs. (Unless carrying other people's gear along with mine) for 1 week or less. This little lantern is very lite and collapses in to a very small space but doesn't get a free pass because it's cool!If you're taking this with you, there are other things to consider. You need to carry the extra candles for one. I bought a large pack of the citronella candles with it because I value the added benefit of keeping the tiny blood suckers away as well as the warm light. This is just a cool little item to have.I'm not going to lie, I'm very hard on my gear. But this lantern has held up surprisingly well. Sure there are scratches as small dents... but like scars, that just adds character. I've read people complaining about the glass breaking and I'm going to say mine is holding up against the torture I've put it through.Sidenote: the top gets hot. VERY. FRAKING. HOT.
Read more..

25.6.2012

I will carry this candle with me on all my trips, even with the few drawbacks it has. To replace the candle you unscrew it from the bottom and insert another one. the lense if made of glass so be aware of that when you pack up. They do make a case for it and I may get one of those to prevent glass shards from getting into the pack should the lense break. It is a bit of a pain to light in the wind. The best way I have found is to partially expose the wick when extending the lense and light it that way.The normal way would be to remove the candle from the holder and light it that way is best I can figure out. The last glaring problem, and one that I doubt they could work around, is the top gets very hot. When getting ready to move or store the thing, give it a couple of minutes to cool down cause it can start a fire or melt some plastic item(s) in your carry case. It says replacement parts, such as the lense, are to be had and it comes in a range of colors. I got bright yellow so I can see it easily. It gives of a fair abount of light for the size and you can read by it without too much eye strain. Just keep the lense clean and use the recommended candles.
Read more..

23.4.2017

Absolutely perfect for my needs. I am 40yo, and for the past 38 years my father's side of the family had held a reunion every summer in the exact same spot just east of Destin but west of Miramar, Florida. My grandmother was the one who organized it and even paid for it when my parents, uncles, aunts etc were young and unable to (we stay in actual houses in a nature preserve - the houses were 'grandfathered' in so there is no new construction allowed. we have 4 miles of 'private'beach and are surrounded by wildlife with deer, foxes, etc not an unusual sight - all this surrounded by huge hotels so you can walk a ways to enjoy nightlife of whatever - VERY expensive, as you might imagine, especially as we get 3-4 houses for the week with the overflow going to houses across Hwy 98. Personally, I'm ALWAYS in a beach house, as is the nucleus 0 Grandma's kids and grandkids). She passed and this is the 1sy year w/o her. We spread a portion of her ashes around an oak tree at her favorite house. This candle will be hung from it in remembrance. It's quite bright and will be a fitting tribute.
Read more..

23.5.2012

At first the lantern may look a bit bulky for the amount of light it throws out but it's worth it for the extra weight. The candle is a lovely addition to night time camping activities as it delivers just enough light to see by. The warm quality of candle light is perfect for when the sun goes downi have the unit with the LED light on the bottom and it was excellent suspended beneath a tarp illuninating the BBQ and a wide peripheral area, it can be removed from the lantern housing and has a little stand attached.brilliant thinking. The 9hr candle lasted 3 late nights in May but I also bought the 12hr beeswax candles for those longer trips.The spring method of the lantern is genius, it was knocked about a few times and some wax spilt down the inside but it didn't affect the operation much beyond slowing the spring a little. A quick clean with hot water after the candle was spent and it was good to go.It's one of those items that's full of charm and adds that special touch to any camping trip
Read more..

8.9.2011

I've had Candle Lanterns as part of my home emergency kit for years. While they do not put out the same amount of light as a flashlight, they work for AT LEAST 9 hours on a single candle. When the power goes out, I place them throughout the house to permit moving around without having to carry a flashlight. The candles burn cleanly, without much soot. There are no batteries or bulbs to replace, and you can store them for YEARS unattended in any position. I prefer an enclosed candle to an oil lamp,for should the candle lantern tip over or be broken, I'll not have flammable lamp oil spreading over everything. Maintenence is easy, consisting of replacing candles, and cleaning the glass chimney. Replacement parts are available, and the light can be used outdoors in a breeze without it being blown out. My recent order of additional candle lanterns arrived quickly, undamaged, well-packaged, and exactly as described.
Read more..

1.5.2018

This is a great little lantern. Packs down to about half of it's extended height. I thought the glass in mine was broken when it arrived but it's just the way it's packaged. The lantern has a small chain and hook for hanging it and it sounds just like broken glass inside the package. It is a little stiff when you open and close it but it has become easier the more I use it. Once open you can slide the glass chimney down for easy lighting. It comes with one candle already in place,but I removed that one and replaced it with the UCO beeswax candle. This candle lantern, with the round label, is made in the U.S. On the bottom it states that it is made in the U.S.A. I've seen some of these lanterns with different labels on different sites that state the lantern is imported so if you only want to buy made in the U.S. look for this round label. This is a great item for your camping kit.
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy