logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for Trangia Mini Trangia reviews.
You can find all Trangia Mini Trangia reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For Trangia Mini Trangia, 190 customer reviews collected from 1 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.5.

Detailed seller stats;
Amazon has 190 customer reviews and the average score is 4.5. Go to this seller.

Similar Items

15.5.2015

If you're looking for a stove to boil water in 2 minutes flat, sounding like a jet engine then look elsewhere!This stove runs on denatured alcohol or methylated spirits, which is available to buy at any hardware store. Running on Meths has it's advantages and disadvantages. The advantages are: It's quiet - nearly silent in fact. Great for that "Getting back to nature" experience. The fuel is cheap. No empty gas canisters to throw away. You always know how much fuel you've got left (Just by looking).The flame, once lit, is *really* hard to blow out. The disadvantages are: It can be hard to start in near freezing conditions, the flame is virtually invisible, there isn't much energy in Meths as there is in gas canisters, so you can expect to double you cooking times compared to gas.This Mini-Trangia Cookest contains a Trangia Stove (lid & simmer ring), Stove stand or "Windscreen", a aluminium pot, a non-stick frying pan (with a small plastic sheet for protection) and a pot gripper. It is all neatly self contained as the frying pan lid clips over the top of the bowl and everything else is contained snugly inside. Providing the lid is put on correctly it will stay put as two tabs hold it securely in place. The actual burner has the usual screw thread top and simmer ring. This makes it very easy to store and carry. There is no strap like on the larger Trangias, however it's not really necessary on this model. There is space inside to store extra small items like matches, a lighter or a cleaning sponge.Setting up is simple. Fill the brass stove up with alcohol / meths, place it in the wind screen, where it is securely held in place and then light it. Put the bowl on top of the windscreen and use the frying pan as a lid on top of the bowl to help keep the heat in. To simmer, adjust the ring to the required diameter and place it over the burner. There is an art to using this simmer ring and you may need to practice. Once you have finished cooking, close the opening on the simmer ring (if it's already on the stove you'll need to flip it off first with the grippers). Drop the closed simmer ring on the burner to stop the flames. **Once cool** you can either just screw the cap back on to save the fuel for later or pour it out into your fuel bottle.Using this out in the field is really simple and it fits easily into any day or rucksack. Why only 4 stars then?Firstly - you'll need a proper wind shield in anything other than dead calm conditions. This stove doesn't have adequate protection from the wind, unlike it's larger versions. A sheet of foil / titanium will do.Secondly - Although the pan gripper is adequate and is able t hold a full pot of water with no trouble it does feel "rough" when gripping the bowl and frying pan. I feel that if you don't take your time in making sure the placement is right then there is a chance you'll scrape the non-stick coating.If you're looking for a nice compact stove for hiking / walking / solo camping then this is ideal.Recommended!
Read more..

20.6.2016

This is an excellent stove which I must have used at least 30 times since purchase.I'm not sold on the redesigned cap which apparently offers a 'simmer' function. It doesn't work very well and once hot makes it difficult to use to snuff out the flame. Instead, I use an aluminium wind guard wrapped around the stove to lift it off the flame. It works well but I'd suggest you take precautions as a wind guard is not designed for this purpose and I'd not like to think of someone scolding themselves through my ill-considered advice.I have two types of fuel which I use.Methylated spirit (which I water-down a little) for food cooking and Coleman's stove fuel for a large flame that boils water in a fraction of the time.Prior to packing up, drop a little cooking oil inside of the cap to keep the rubber seal in tip-top condition and to allow for easy opening.Incidentally, the 'pan' lost its anodised coating within two uses (methylated spirt). I only use this pan for boiling water to wash with rather than consume as I fear heavy metal contamination but perhaps I'm being overly cautious.Update 02/04/2018I'm off on another 5 day trip on Wednesday. This set is still going strong, having been used at least 100 times. The pan I no longer use for cooking - despite rigorous cleaning, water tastes tarnished. Instead I use this to boil a small amount of water for cleaning. The frying pan still does it job, though the clamp has removed the nonstick layer from the edges. However the main purpose for posting an update relates to the burner.The burner is as good as new, though I do clean it after each trip to maintain operation. It's never let me down, though I did have difficult infighting meths during sub zero conditions. To overcome this, I learnt to deliberately spill a little around the edge, instantly infighting with a fire stick and in-turn the reservoir (the fumes act as a catalyst). I still ensure I lightly oil the cap to prevent the rubber sealing ring from deteriorating. Thank you Trangia - 10/10NB I am aware you can buy a prep device to sit under the burner however at the price I don't see the need. Comment from other users of this and the burner are more than welcome.
Read more..

24.9.2011

A must for winter camping. When it gets to real brass monkey weather, the gas stoves begin failing unless you've pre-warmed the gas cylinder. Hexamine stoves taint the flavour, paraffin stoves are the best of course, but a bit of a faff. If you are only going away for the weekend a couple of times a year, then the Trangia may be all you need.Yes, they are slow, but you're not in a hurry are you?. They work in very low temperatures that defeat some of the gas stoves. For the cost of 1 medium gas cylinder,you can buy enough fuel for a year + you aren't tossing away the expensive container.They're silent. This has to be appreciated in the middle of nowhere on a crisp morning or your last brew of the night.Fuel is easily available and cheap.So why not kick back, wait 6 minutes instead of 3 for your brew and enjoy the silence.No in tent cooking!, not even in the porch unless you have something twixt stove and groundsheet. Yes, in tent cooking can be dangerous at the best of times. These things get hot all over, and a melted groundsheet or spilled fuel is not funny in a tent. Unlike their larger brethren, these are a little unstable. Controlling the flame for simmering or slow frying is a bit of an art and make sure you have enough fuel before you start as you cannot re-fuel the stove until it has fully cooled. Don't store fuel in it while travelling as they do leak a little and the meths makes your clothes smell funny. Not as bad as paraffin though.For a day stove, for a spot of hiking and a brew/pot noodle, they can't be beat. For winter camping, they are damn good. Packs up very small too. For boil time comparisons, Gelert gas screw-on 3:00 mins. Optimus Primus 96 3:30 + a minute to start it. Trangia, 6:00 minutes + a minute to start it. Those times are very much rounded out.For windier outdoors brew ups, you really do need a windshield of some sorts. The Trangia won't blow out, but the flame velocity is very low on these stoves and the heat gets blown away from your pot without some shielding. Roof flashing makes an excellent screen, as do those foil serving trays, suitably cut up.
Read more..

7.11.2015

Fantastic minimal cooking set. I like the lightweight pot-stand, and the fact that the frypan/lid does click in the main pot making a solid box that is convenient to carry.The frypan is great for cooking eggs (during my cycling trips I always pass in front of farms that would sell fresh eggs) and other stuff, the non-stick coating means that very little water and time is needed for cleaning. That is convenient when resources and time are limited.There is a thick plastic protector in the frypan,which helps to prevent scratching the non-stick coating. For the main pot, just keep a kitchen cloth inside to prevent rattling&scratches, unless there's someone so wise to travel without a kitchen cloth?Mind you, the main pot is small, holds 500ml of water at the most safe point, 550ml if you dare, 600ml if you're heating soup or other food that does not boil. This is enough for the solo user, if you're cooking for two get the 0.9lt pot for the Trangia27, and this Mini-Trangia kit will neatly fit inside :-)Also, the real weight of the mini-Trangia is a good 40gr more than stated. Yet, by using an alluminium burner (sorry Trangia for the brass one) you can have a complete kitchen with less than 350gr.See the picture:Mini Trangia 0.6lt pot, inside are the mini Trangia pot holder, an Alluminium DIY burner with cap, a kitchen towel, a small gas lighter, 1/4 of kitchen sponge, a plastic spork, a small wooden spatula, 1mt of kitchen alluminium foil; in the Mini Trangia frypan there is a 13cm tall pot windscreen made from alluminium baking tray. Not pictured the Mini Trangia pot stand.Field tested, works brilliant with no fuss.
Read more..

24.5.2013

I bought this stove for solo overnight hikes and have been really impressed by how easy and effective it is. As a kit it is light weight and everything packs into the pot and is held in place by the pan which serves as a lid. There is not much space left over for other items but I have been storing a box of waterproof matches in there as well. You can buy a cover for the kit separately but it would be nice if one was included with the kit since you are probably not going to want to drop into yourpack just the way it comes out of the box (although you could).Functionality wise it couldn't be much easier to use the stove. I use Heet for fuel (cheap and easy to get) and boiling a full pot of water for food or coffee takes less than 2 oz of fuel (call it 1 1/2 oz roughly). I have never tracked the time but its roughly five minutes for a full pot of water.The included stand does a great job of holding the pot or pan as well as shielding the burner from light breezes (not gale winds). Although the pot holder looks pretty weak it does a fine job of holding a full pot of water (boiling hot) making it possible to pour the hot water into a cup or food pouch.I would give this kit 5 stars right now if it came with a cover. This is a really well designed, rugged, light weight, and easy to use kit. I couldn't find anything else that was this complete for the solo hiker that came anywhere near the price.
Read more..

3.8.2011

What I like:All components are very well built and the whole unit is compact.Very reliable and easy to prime, but I can't say about cold weather starts just yet. I will try to update this review when winter gets here.You can leave the fuel inside the stove, and I pack a small book of matches inside the bowl so I have the whole package ready to go.The flame last quite a while, enough for me to brown (slightly sear)a sliced can of spam.The simmer lid works well and allows me to make rice without too much burned rice on the bottom.Modifications I made:I used a knife sharpening stone to round out the edges of clamping end of the "handle/tongs" so they won't scrape against the soft bowl and non-stick finish.First, I recommend against using Isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol as it will left a nasty ash that is difficult to clean and will stain anything it touches. The fuels I have tried are 70% ethyl rubbing alcohol (in yellow labels) at RiteAid or most drug stores, or denatured alcohol you can get a WalMart or any hardware store. With the denatured alcohol, I would dilute it very slightly (1 part water with 9 parts denatured alcohol) because pure denatured alcohol burns too high. With the 70% ethyl rubbing alcohol, no diluting is needed.
Read more..

31.1.2014

I bought this after seeing it in use at download festival last year (your not supposed to take gas canisters into the grounds, though many do obviously), I'd never seen these spirit burning stoves before and thought it looked really good so here i am.I have used it on several hiking trips and it works great, no problems with wind it boils water fast, and just does what you need it to do every time, it is also very compact the burner goes in the tin and the pan goes on top as a lid,there would also be enough room left in the tin to shove a pair of socks if your really tight for space in your pack.All that being said though i will no longer be using the stove, i really don't like the smell of spirit when its burning or the idea of spirit being around my food. Also the bottle i kept the spirit in leaked slightly and got all over my bag which then also stank. So just a warning to anyone who hasn't used one before. If you are going to use it i would do your research on which spirits to use as some can be toxic, or some can leave a sooty mess when burnt, things like that.I have now switched back to a gas stove but Ive kept the tin and lid as my gas stove fits inside it nicely like the alcohol one did
Read more..

15.10.2013

When this stove arrived I couldn't believe how small and light the box was, surely this couldn't be a stove and cookset? But all the bits were in there, and after a quick fill with meths I did a few test runs in the kitchen to see how it went, making instant noodles and cups of tea with ease, and even cooking a few potatoes is no trouble if they're cut up small.I used it in earnest on a recent camping trip, where it did great service, producing hot meals and hot drinks with no trouble at all.If it's windy then you either need to run it in a sheltered area or improvise some shield with a bit of foil. Also it does take a while compared with more powerful gas stoves, but it's much smaller and lighter than those, and above all it's silent, which is nice when enjoying the beauty of nature.Overall this is a great piece of kit, it even includes a little non-stick frying pan. If you're wanting to travel light and prepare simple meals and drinks for one or two people, then this little gadget won't disappoint.
Read more..

18.4.2013

Received this in the mail after a short wait. Today is a stormy day here in Sweden, +10C and sun. Added fuel until it was 3/4 full set it up behind a 12" windscreen, forget using this without with efficiency since there is no built in windscreen on this model. It took 8mins to get a almost full pot to boil. It was full with only one inch to the rim. After it got to boiling, I put on the simmer ring, and let it boil as if I was making 10min rice. When done,I had enough fuel left for some frying of something imaginary sausage.The small size of this kit makes it most suitable for dense foods that boil quickly. I will prolly use it for bangers and mash, or rice. I would not bother boiling a whole potato in this.I did not like the gripper much, felt Mickey mouse to me, but most will not mind it I think. I recommend getting a bag for it, and the cutting board/drain thingamabob also!I love this thing! (And I love the smell of the alcohol burning...childhood camping memories!)
Read more..

15.5.2014

First off, I was torn between this and the simpler 'trangia triangle'. What tipped it was that the triangle is £18, and this is £21.. for £3 you get a much better base for the burner, a 0.8ltr pot, pot handle and a non-stick frying pan oh and the burner its self.This thing is tiny, it fits comfortably in one hand and weighs nothing. I thoroughly recommend a windshield, make sure it's not too tall (as this isn't exactly a huge stove) the vango orange shield works well.My only gripe is that in the 27 (which I also use frequently)I can store quite a bit inside it, such as fuel, matches and a multi disk. Don't expect to manage much more than matches with this one. The burner needs to sit in a groove in the middle of the pan to pack away, so you only have the room around the burner-stand to play with, which isn't muchTotally replaced my other stoves as my 'one man backpacking' stove. Brilliant.
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy