logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for Tatonka Handle Mug reviews.
You can find all Tatonka Handle Mug reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For Tatonka Handle Mug, 227 customer reviews collected from 3 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.8.

Detailed seller stats;
Addnature has 13 customer reviews and the average score is 4.8. Go to this seller.
Amazon has 201 customer reviews and the average score is 4.8. Go to this seller.
Trekkinn has 13 customer reviews and the average score is 4.8. Go to this seller.

Similar Items

29.4.2013

Its a good solid sturdy mug that does not feel like its going to break too easily.The handles are good and easy to hold the cup by even when full.It has very useful markers inscribed inside to show quantity in Ml (marked inside..not outside like in the picture but i prefere it that way).My coleman 100 size gas canisters fit perfectly inside.As its a single wall steel cup it gets quite hot with boiling water inside but you can use the handles until it cools a little then it can be used to warm your hands on a cold day.Some reviews have said that the cup tips when EMPTY with the handles open,mine does not fall over unless it were knocked but thats not a problem as its empty! If it bothers you then fold the handles in a bit. When there is a little liquid inside it ibecomes perfectly stable.As its a metal cup you can also use it directly on your stove.The cup is a good size with wide and short dimensions holding 350-400ml comfortably and about 500ml if filled to the brim.Overall its a good quality product, very useful and feels very authentic and rustic when brewing up in the wilds.
Read more..

20.5.2017

I use this cup as part of a stainless steel nesting brew and cook kit inside a Condor h2o pouch. This nesting set is used in or near a fire as well as with gas. It is a great, robust cup and a bargain for the money. The tatonka at the bottom end then a Stanley Cook pot inside it and a nalgene stainless steel bottle inside the Stanley with the Stanley pot lid also fitting the tatonka cup. THE STANLEY handle needs to be removed to facilitate this and I store it inside the Nalgene bottle along with a fish mouth spreader that I use to suspend the nalgene over a fire.A fire steel, spoon and other items can also be stored inside the Nalgene. I carry a 100g gas canister in the lid of the Condor underneath the Stanley pot lid and a small gas burner in the Condors front zip pouch along with coffee satchels. To slide the nested items in and out of the Condor pouch just place them all in their own plastic bags to keep each item clean and then put them all in one bag and slide all items inside the pouch. This way they easily slide in and out of the pouch :)
Read more..

20.10.2012

Have used two of these for a month now. One of them had a very small splinter of steel jutting out from the bracket (that is welded to the mug that holds the handles)and this managed to stab my hand. This problem was easily solved using a Leatherman to pinch it off but does not say much for Tatonkas manufacturing or quality control!Most of my friends have found the foldable handles awkward to use, but this is in the nature of the beast (there is no way I can see that this could be improved)and the folding handles do save space in the rucksack and avoid snagging.Easy to keep clean and a good size. In my opinion they will last well. They are sufficiently robust for the job without being too heavy.As I said before, the handles do take so getting used to. One of our group did not take to it at all whereas I found I was able to manage and got used to it.So, try before you buy! If you can take to the handles you will be very pleased with every other aspect.
Read more..

23.11.2016

Having now been using my Tatonka mug for over 6 months for making a quick brew in the shed, overnight & weekend lightweight camping trips, etc, I can definitely say it was and is worth every penny. In spite of my reservations about the internal measurement markings, I can confirm that they are unchanged - as far as I can tell - after many scrubbings with a standard green scourer like those found in most kitchens. The handle does an excellent job being long enough to stay cool (hint - keep it on the upwind side of the flames)as well as being stable and controllable so that you don't dump your eagerly-awaited brew on the ground. This is now my standard small cooking pot/brewing up 'kettle', it cooks two sachets of instant porridge at a time for a quick and easy camping breakfast; ground coffee + cold water + heat = an excellent cuppa.I can't imagine another piece of kit replacing it, it's that good at what it does.
Read more..

4.6.2011

A brilliant bit of kit, especially if your bottle of choice is a 1l Nalgene bottle (or similar), which it fits over nicely.I was a bit worried about the handles for extended use as they looked a bit awkward, but you can hold them like a spoon in a number of ways, they have the added benefit that you can jam them together over a washing line or guy line to dry the cup off the ground and at eye level so you don't lose it. Slightly unstable with the handles extended when empty but as soon as you have an inch of liquid in it its fine.500ml is (just)enough (or just not enough) to cook with for one person, the long handle and steel construction make it simple to use over a stove, its a bit trickier over a fire but doable. Some sort of detachable mouthguard would be a good addition for this purpose.Good with whisky... Highly recommended!
Read more..

11.4.2016

Had my eye on one of these for a while. It's a great looking bit of kit and is well built, and feels like it should last a lifetime. The handle is well attached and holds it firm unlike some cheaper mugs I have used, and fold tight to the mug and stay there being nice unobtrusive.It's a nice size, and being good single walled stainless steel you could use this to cook and sterilise water with as well, which is a bonus. I bought this with the aim of getting a Nalgene stainless bottle,as it nestles inside of this creating a nice compact cooking solution.Over all I am very happy with this product, buying good quality like this means an item that should last a very long time, thanks Tatonka!
Read more..

24.6.2017

So far so good. Got this camping/backpacking mug as I'd heard that it 'nested' well with the Stanley cook set (as you can see in the image). The Stanley cook set lid also fits the cup so could work well for extra light pack (could put the cup direct onto a stove/fire with it being stainless steel).Seems pretty solid, and a good size too. Could be used as a small bowl to eat out of if needed.I'm happy with the weight personally but obviously if you're serious about keeping weight to a minimum thenprobably worth remembering that there will be lighter alternatives (no doubt at a noticeable cost).Ideal for me. Would recommend for sure.
Read more..

7.11.2019

The standard Tatonka mug is 500ml, this mug is 600ml - both mugs are the same width, this 600ml version is just slightly taller in height. My Stanley Adventure cook pot (the one with the two green cups inside) fits into this mug perfectly (see photo). I usually wrap the Stanley in a hanky before pushing it into the cup - this keeps it from rattling while I walk, and also keeps it a snug fit, so you can pick up the Stanley and the mug doesn't fall off (handy for when packing it away).The lid from the Stanley fits the mug perfectly (see photo). I use the mug and lid for solo days out and the Stanley/mug combo for when there is two of us.
Read more..

20.4.2013

Fits over my 32oz Nalgene perfectly. Sits inside my Condor 10x4 water carrier fine. If you put it at the bottom it's a bit of a wiggle to get it back out, so I put it over the top of the bottle instead.The mug holds half a litre (just over a pint), meaning it's big enough for a brew or a meal. It has the fluid level markings inside which are useful, and the handles are much sturdier than the reviews gave me to think. You will probably find that they get a bit hot if you are heating the mug direct on the fire,but that's what gloves are for.All in all I am very happy with this mug. I am going to buy one for my my young son too.
Read more..

11.3.2013

I could do my cooking in this thing XDIt really is huge, they aren't lying when they say it is 500ml, I easily got a whole bottle of coke in it without it spilling over the edges.It also fits around the Nalgene 1L bottle perfectly, so if you have one or if you plan on getting a bottle, get one of those to accompany this product (Perfect for hiking/ camping).The steel construction allows you to stick it on a fire and works well for making a quick brew for yourself.My only complaint is that the handles are a bit awkward,if they were a bit larger in terms of where you can get your hands in, it would be perfect.
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy