logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for Soto Windmaster reviews.
You can find all Soto Windmaster reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For Soto Windmaster, 60 customer reviews collected from 1 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.8.

Detailed seller stats;
Amazon has 60 customer reviews and the average score is 4.8. Go to this seller.

11.6.2019

This really is the D's B's for getting a brew on in windy conditions. This is the third burner I have tried for backpacking trips. The first one was a Coleman, which is good, not too heavy (70g or so), but is susceptible to windy conditions. The second burner was an ultralight titanium BRS (I think it is) which weighs only a tiny 25g and folds up really small, but has no wind resistance whatsoever. This SOTO is just so well engineered and the design is superb - the burner is a "bowl" and the pot holder is close to the top,so it is very difficult for wind to influence the flame adversely. Furthermore the valve is a kind of "reverse logic" mechanism, which gives brilliant control of the flame and is also regulated to deal with decreasing pressure more effectively as the gas cannister nears empty. I think it's about 80g or so, but well worth the slightly higher weight to carry (we're talking relative here) for the vastly improved functionality.For shorter trips when the weather forecast is for calmer conditions, I'd probably still take the Lixada meth/alcohol burner (same as a Trangia) and for mucking about/car camping I'd take my little wood burner stove; but for long-distance trips where you cannot predict what weather conditions are going to occur (it will be windy at some point!), the SOTO burner is the one to carry. It's worth every penny and there is an offer on the burner with basic pot stand, PLUS the larger pot stand in the package. Brilliant product - buy one!
Read more..

23.6.2019

I bought this to take with me on a one week trip into remote wilderness, where primary mode of transportation was canoeing and hiking. We did some actual cooking on this, as well as boiling water and this thing is awesome! The 4 prong pot attachment could support anything we threw at it. The piezo lighter and simmer control was dead simple to use. The lighter worked reliably every time. Boil times far surpassed my white gas MSR Dragonfly stove that I had been using (which I still love, btw,since it would survive the zombie invasion). A pleasant bonus of the Soto was how quiet it is. Other similar "pocket rocket" stoves are super loud and give the feeling that they could take off at any moment. Kinda defeats the purpose of relaxing in the woods. Soto went to great lengths to prove that something could be windproof, fast-boiling, and quiet all at the same time. The one niggle with this stove is that the 4-prong pot stabilizer is a separate attachment. It's not as slick as some of the stoves where this part is integrated with swiveling prongs. Soto used to provide both a 3 prong and 4 prong attachment. But lately, Soto is just including the 4-prong. For people counting grams (you know who you are, stop that!) it could make a difference. Not a deal-breaker, and I certainly would buy this one again. But here's hoping Soto considers an updated model where everything is integrated. Until then, I will happily be using this little gem. At least until the zombies attack.
Read more..

15.9.2020

There are lighter burners, just a fact. So if your main goal is ultralight ultralight ultralight then you will probably read the grams and SKIP unless you already cold soak lol. Now if your looking for a lightweight burner that is very well made/efficient/sturdy there is no better option. I had the pocket rocket deluxe and the soto blows it out of the water on all fronts. I’m not even going to compare. Just get this one if your debating.I feel a sense of pride every time I cook with it in the backcountry or the occasional burger at the beach.The four prong is magnificent. I’ve lost a good amount of food because of the 3 prong stoves. And there’s no chance these arms will collapse on you. I’ll use full size pans while car camping and it’s very sturdy. Igniter is all time. Flame control and wind protection are industry leading.For backpacking I pair this with a TOAKS 1100ml pot and MSR fuel stabilizer. I can fit an 8 oz canister (upside down), the Soto burner and a cleaning cloth all inside the pot. It’s beautiful.
Read more..

11.6.2019

Used a BRS for the past 2 years, decided on getting another stove, because why not. The wind screen I had was annoying to store, and the thought of needing to re-make a foil one after every other trip wasn't appealing.I'm glad I got this model. It's quiet, it's light, you don't need to bring a secondary spark to light the stove, and the four prong attachment it came with is stable. It fits inside the 30oz Ti Snowpeak pot fine (with the prongs, a small sponge, a collapsible set of chopsticks,and a zippo. I ended up getting the 3 prong attachment for weight savings, but I can see where previous complaints of stability came from: it's much smaller.WindMaster indeed: I just used my body/a tree to block most of the wind, and it's fine. It's heavier than some other stoves, but you save on not needing a wind screen. It can get reasonably low power on the flame in milder weather.If you're not going to gamble on getting a BRS that doesn't melt and don't mind something a bit heavier (25g vs 65g~), then get this stove.
Read more..

19.8.2019

I chose Soto over the MSR PocketRocket Deluxe. They’re very similar, but Soto had the original wind proof design, and the removable 4Flex arms on Soto feel more stable to me. MSR has a floppiness in one arm that made me worry about stability, Soto is rock solid. I tested this out a few times with a full-size pot of water and 12 hot dogs, absolutely no issues attached to an MSR can. When heating a more typical light camping pot, this thing is a speedy flamethrower for boiling water, I love it.And I’ve tested it in windy Wisconsin sites as well as rooftops on super blustery Chicago days, it’s never gone out. The piezo works really well as long as your fuel regulator is up high enough, about 1.5 turns, otherwise it might take a few clicks. The simmer control works really well to control flame size too, and it’s very quiet, my wife didn’t realize it was on. Very lightweight, packs up into backpacking pots.
Read more..

8.3.2020

Wanted to wait and write a review once we had time to test. Our first test was initial backward run with wind around 15 mph. Second and third in the mountainous terrain around 4000’ with 20-40mph winds, around 30-40 degree weather. It boiled water under those conditions no problem. We also heated up noodles and back packets pantry food. Nice way to hug or hold something hot/warm. Overall, me and my son totally enjoyed its compactness, weight, and features. So some of things that were important to me but could be for you as well.Sealed bottom post; it was heavy duty compare to the MSR pocket rocket. 4-prong pot holder: the MSR had only 3 and pot wasn’t stable enough for my liking. Igniter; had no problem lighting up every single time. Adjustable gas; you can adjust low to high and it was very effective. Wind: had no problem in windy conditions. I’ve enjoyed it this much I’m tempted to get one more!
Read more..

26.5.2019

Overall this stove is definitely worth considering. The recessed flame and small space between the flame and pot definitely assist in getting a good flame in the wind. Additionally, the 4flex adds some extra stability for larger size pots if needed. I just used mine on a short one night backpacking trip and it performed really well. It boiled the water and cooked quickly. It was sturdy even on a smaller 110g fuel canister. There were a few instances where the piezo lighter took a few tries to work,but it always lit the second or third try if it didn't work the first. Additionally, my cook set-up is a 1L pot and I was able to fit the fuel, stove, 4 flex, and a smaller, squishy style bowl inside the pot as far as packing is concerned. I would highly recommend considering this stove if you're looking for better wind resistance and fuel efficiency.
Read more..

20.11.2019

Update 2020-06-13Wont readily spark, and i dont know why. Its badically unusable. Not sure if i did something to it by accident, or it just wore out.Original postIts so fast, i cant even finish my morning quick ck of fb, and email, etc. 16 oz cold brew coffee heated in fast time. No time to relax! And i used a thick bottomed pot. I have Mountainhouse and a store brand type food in my van, to do the boil and soak n eat. Never thought a dinky little backpack burner could be so effective.Update a few days later: Since one has to put on and take off the pot holder,i noticed it can jagged the rim of the burner unit.Update: I now just keep the pot holder on the burber the whole time. I do not take it off. Just stuff it in bag with legs folded on the burner.
Read more..

8.10.2019

Works great for me! Igniter on side worked great and the flame is uniform and consistent. The flame held well in moderate/heavy wind (haven’t been in super strong wind yet). The burner has a nice concave to help with wind. The build quality is very nice. Mine works with all the cylinders I tried including Coleman’s which some people had problems with. Mine came with the removable 4 flex pot supports which attach and remove nicely. Also included is a small carrying bag.The fuel adjustment is also very nice and adjusts smoothly between high and low. Mine has been very reliable. I prefer this over most micros I don’t mine the extra weight if it gets me feed fast and on my way.
Read more..

21.10.2019

This has been a very nice quality stove for long backpacking trips where clutter and weight are a consideration. The Stove is sturdy and made for light materials, screws on easily to fuel tanks, and packs up easily. The "igniter" button is handy for lighting, but also bring a lighter/matches as it only works reliably when cold. Once hot, and then turned off, it doesn't like to start again via the "igniter." Boils water very quickly at elevation. Darn good stove, especially for the price.
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy