logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for Primus Micron Lantern (360lm) reviews.
You can find all Primus Micron Lantern (360lm) reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For Primus Micron Lantern (360lm), 78 customer reviews collected from 2 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 4.6.

Detailed seller stats;
Amazon has 74 customer reviews and the average score is 4.6. Go to this seller.
Trekkinn has 4 customer reviews and the average score is 5. Go to this seller.

Similar Items

28.7.2014

This thing is pretty much a blowtorch with a mantle. I love it!It puts out a generous amount of light, and an extreme amount of heat (so much so that it can be dangerous). In addition I can run this on multiple fuels with the appropriate adapters.First off even with the mesh cage you get plenty of uninterrupted light. Its blinding to look at, the gas flow adjustment valve is very proportional and very accurate. And unlike most stoves that run on cylinder gas it maintains it's setting when you adjust it,even down to very very low. You can get it so low that it will barely provide any visible light, but it still provides ample heat to keep a car in winter or a tent warm when used properly to avoid asphyxiation.On any setting except absolute minimum the mesh cage and top of lantern will get so hot they will instantly ignite anything that touches it! Paper, wood, synthetic materials (your tent, jacket, pants, sleeping bag, etc). So this thing is extremely dangerous in that regard if not used with caution. Even at the lowest setting it still gets hot enough to burn you if you happen to touch or grab it.The steel wire hanging kit is great as it is attached to the base of the lantern that is fixed an not the removable mesh part. So you can be confident that the lamp will be securely held in place.It only comes with a single mantle and Primus mantles are expensive and can be impossible to find locally. Luckily they are the same as the Coleman #51 slip on mantles. But since Coleman no longer makes a micro lantern like this, those mantles are getting harder to find (most retail stores won't carry them) and more expensive. So I decided to try a standard Coleman #21 tie on mantle and yes it will work fine if installed properly. Those you can still get just about anywhere including walmart. So you can save yourself some headache and some dough using those. I can also use the Peerless mantles that are an alternative to the Colemans as I generally prefer those as they burn much brighter and whiter than the Colemans as they still have the Thorium in them. Using those its uncomfortable to look right at this thing on high.With the following adapters I can run the lantern on either the much cheaper Asian store pure butane cylinders, or the 1lb disposable propane cylinders.Kovea Propane Adapter ASIN# B00CFPISZWKovea Lindal valve to CB butane canister adapter ASIN# B00CFPIT06So if you car camping there is much better fuel economy to be had than the more expensive 4 season fuels.All in all a very solid lantern that can be even more useful and cheaper to run as advertised. Will probably buy a few more for fear they will one day be discontinued and no longer available.
Read more..

1.5.2016

Ok, bought it for backpacking, its not "too heavy" if you are going U/L you might just want a headlamp. This lamp is robust and well made. I had an electric lantern along on our recent trip - either " would have worked" but the Scouts seemed to prefer the very bright light from this... it really does light up the entire camp site for board games or whatever. I guess it would be a hand warmer heater as well if you were cold. It has a very nice bag that rolls up and keeps it safe.It has a wonderful wire string to hang it from a branch (should you not have a table to set it on). The bag seems like a must because it has one of those "burn down" elements that make it so bright (like a propane lamp). I was a little worried that the element would not hold up when it was disassembled but it seems to have stayed in tact well. Feel like I have to buy a back element up at some point though. It lights well without matches. It feels about a bright as one of those dual element Coleman propane lanterns (same kind of light profile). So why not 5 stars... it seemed to burn a good amount of fuel the night we used it (over used it?). Anyway if I was backpacking more than just the weekend I am not sure I would take it along due to the fuel usage and weight. Its nice it runs on the same stuff as the stove, and it will be in my camper. But for backpacking - maybe a little heavy with the bag and fuel considerations. I would take it if there are a number of us going - it is a great group activity light. IT is a HIGH quality product all in all. If you were planning to use it car camping I would give it 6 stars, IT IS SO much better than the aforementioned bulky coleman and the element seems more robust. But for backpacking I just like it.
Read more..

12.5.2014

By myself, I've always been perfectly content with my headlamp. I bought this thinking it'd be a cool toy for plush backpacking trips with my girlfriend/non-hiker friends. After all, the weight penalty is negligible if I'm already carrying a canister. After using it just a few times, however, I am reluctant to leave it behind even on my solo trips. It creates a lot of natural looking, ambient light. Its a strangely comforting effect, whether I'm setting up/tearing down a tent, eating dinner,getting ready for bed, or packing up before dawn. Much preferred to the blue, shadow-less spot light from a headlamp.One thing that would be kind of nifty would be a way to adjust the length of wire/cable/thing, so you could adjust the height that it hangs down when suspended. Also, to keep the cable from getting as hot, it seems like a non-metallic spacer could be added, but I'm not sure if that would help, and it would certainly add weight. The lantern itself does get very hot. Like, it glows red for a few seconds after you turn it off.Also, down below 15-20 degrees it kinda craps out. It sputters and shoots flames out the top and whatnot, but that's kind of inherent in the design. Perhaps a generator tube could added like on cold weather stoves... that would be pretty cool.*Dropped from 5 stars to 4. After about a year (probably a dozen backpacking trips) the piezo igniter stopped working. It was difficult to light with a lighter or matches until I removed the igniter entirely. This left a space large enough to allow the flame of a lighter to reach the globe.
Read more..

21.1.2015

I go camping whenever possible so me and my wife decided one day to upgrade to backpacking / Motorcycle camping. We also traded in the large bulky Coleman lanterns and stoves for something a bit smaller. I did a lot of research and I landed here.In most cases I would use LED flashlights and lanterns "AA and AAA batteries are a lot lighter than cans of butane fuel" but for good wide area light and heat this micro lantern can’t be beat. I normally bring this lantern on cold weather trips.me and the wife can stop drink some water rest for a few minutes and warm up with the lantern.Also works great in the dear blind set it on low and it will burn warm for hours. I let it run on high for up to 4-1/2 hours and at its lowest in excess of 7 hours. It burns just as bright if not brighter than a traditional Coleman lantern the wire mesh protects the element and won’t break like most traditional lanterns. it has about 2 or so foot of cable allowing it to be hung from low hanging branches.Do keep in mind it is still has a mantle which is very fragile. the lantern can be safely shoved in a pack and I’ve had no issues with it on long trips but keep spare mantles in your pack and don't drop it or toss your pack down as you could damage the white mantle.PS: I’ve also had a chance to use this lantern in 2 power outages I put on top of the stove so it could be near the upper exhaust lit the kitchen, dining room and most of living room.
Read more..

1.8.2013

There is a stainless steel wire bridle attached on both sides just below the mesh screen ... the bridle attaches to a sliding wire loop 5" above the top of the hot lantern for hanging ... there's an s-hook on the top end.The instruction sheet says to keep the heated lantern at least .5 meters (20 inches) away from combustible materials. That is almost exactly the distance that the bridle and suspension wire maintain between the top of the hot lantern and the hanging point.The bridle and s-hook are visible in the Amazon photos,but not mentioned in the description. Looks like there is one on the glass glove version as well ... I was pleased to discover it when I opened the box. I had already thought of rigging up something similar with a coat hanger, wire or somesuch affair for hanging. This is much better. Perfect.I was able to locate spare mantles, but the other parts mentioned in the instruction sheet may be hard to find ... 1) Jet Nipple 0.12 mm. 2) O-ring & 3) the Piezo igniter itself. The Primus Piezo igniters have a reputation for durability. The maintenance sheet describes cleaning the nipple by blowing through it and inspecting the O-ring, along with checking for leaks with soapy water. Having the back up replacement parts would be wise.
Read more..

11.12.2018

Lightweight. Compact. Solid design. Uses very little fuel. Pretty bright considering it's covered with a solid metal mesh.Doubles as a space heater hanging inside tent. Spent a few nights in San Gorgonio wilderness above 7000 feet. Had no problems with the igniter and it helped fight back the chill on 20 degree nights. Steel cable included for hanging has enough length to keep whatever it is hanging from cool.If you use this inside a tent, be extremely careful and use your head!!!Make sure you are venting if in a 4 season tent and don't keep it on for more than 30 minutes at a time. If you fall asleep with it on in an enclosed space, you may not wake up. Carbon monoxide is not your friend!I carry it in an Oakley zippered sunglasses case. It fits perfectly and I carry an extra mantle in there too.Wouldn't recommend for through hiking where your fuel needs to be carefully controlled, but on a few nights where 1 canister is more than enough, this is a nice item to have.I love it and am very pleased with its performance.
Read more..

10.3.2015

Very good lantern I have had this for over a year.The mantels can get beat up a bit so having a few is recomended also having an extra on hand while out is also recomended.Very bright at full setting but smaller MSR type canisters only last a few hours but i pack the smallest ones i can get, a medium setting is plenty and lasts long enough.Now the reason I only gave it four stars is not the lantern but the fact that I ordered the gray and the white(glass lens) showed up!At first I really didnt want it but the glass lens model comes with a small hard case and after taking it out a couple times I really got to like it. The auto start failed more than once so be aware of that, most every one has matches or a lighter anyway I didnt really buy it for that but for its size and brightness. So all around great lantern in short. Be aware of color selection when buying Grey= mesh, White= glass w/ case. : )
Read more..

20.4.2017

THIS IS NOT A COLEMAN NORTHSTAR. That being said, this is an amazing lantern, the only reason i mention the northstar is because it is way brighter. Duh. There are a few reasons why i decided to try this lantern vs others for camping. 1, I like isobutane canisters for my stoves, why not find a lantern that works on the same fuel. 2, The mesh won't get super hot and break if my mantle gets a hole, glass on the other hand.... 3, it's really light for a very durable package. 4, a pleasant surprise,i was worried about the wind blowing it out through the mesh, so far it hasn't even thought of blowing out, granted i'm only in moderate winds. Will update when blown, if it eber happens. "Edit' again, i still love this lantern, in my most recent pic i'm using a coleman 1lb with an svea adapter. It's still killin it." ( again, it was turned all the way down for the picture.)
Read more..

5.2.2021

Creating a gas-mantle lantern without a glass globe is brilliant.It came with only one mantle, which seems a bit chintzy at $55. Not sure what magic properties make three spare mantles worth $12, but there it is ... I read that people are substituting cheaper Coleman mantles, but who wants to invite trouble with their gear when out in the bush? The piezo igniter works great.The quality stuff sack is extra-thick but is almost twice as big as what's needed to house the unit--it nearly holds the lantern while attached to a 4 oz isobutane canister.And it closes with a 1/2" nylon belt with a plastic snap-buckle (like the chest strap on your pack, perhaps.) A bit odd, seems like it's repurposed. A hard plastic, fitted case would be an awesome accessory.The light is slightly yellowish and a bit subdued -- bring back thorium-doped mantles!
Read more..

2.1.2020

Wow! A great micro lantern for backpacking or camping. Get the propane adapter for the 1 lb propane tanks and it will run for almost 20 hours on high...much longer if you throttle it back. Instant starting with the pizo lighter. The suspension wire makes it useful to hang up or it can be used sitting on a surface. The mantles are tougher than they look and are fairly simple to install. I do recommend getting some Coleman #51 mantles for it as spares.Also consider getting extension legs for the fuel container if used on a surface to minimize the chances of it being knocked over by accident. A very compact lantern that is a joy to use.
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy