logo

Info


Reviewbucket.co.uk scanned the internet for Bound by Flame reviews.
You can find all Bound by Flame reviews and ratings on this page.

Read the reviews.

Analysis


For Bound by Flame, 74 customer reviews collected from 1 e-commerce sites, and the average score is 3.4.

Detailed seller stats;
Amazon has 74 customer reviews and the average score is 3.4. Go to this seller.

Detail


Click to list all products in this category.

Similar Items

10.5.2014

Bound by flame is difficult to rate because there are so many good things in this game, unfortunately it also has a lot of bad things.To begin with, the main issue I had with this game was how slow the beginning was and really not interesting. I thought I would quit after 10 minutes of gameplay because I was not involved enough. The customisation of the character is limited, there are like five faces and five hair styles and the player cannot alter anything in the face, not even the hair colour.So yes, character customisation is limited (extremely limited).Then move on to the main character (Vulcan). The use of the F word is often present in the game which is grotesque considering it is a medieval fantasy era, I don't believe the f word was invented back then, so that was just vulgar and immature. The main character is really acting childish and like a Dante wannabe, this is the main critique I have with the MC.Gameplay-wise it's good. It's a mix between Dragon age II i'd say and the witcher, a slight incorporation of Dark soul, too. If you play on normal difficulty or above then the game is worth it but in casual you'll get bored within twenty minutes as there is no challenge whatsoever. I highly recommend not going for easy difficulty otherwise it's pointless to play it as the main interest in this game is the interesting gameplay. The crafting and level up tree are interesting and will definitely help building a great character.Companions- Too stupid or just useless! They are always dying unless you order them to stay on the defensive. My advice is to never let your companion play anything else than defensive otherwise they'll die. Two spiders were enough to put my party in difficulty because my companion had died quick.Story is good but nothing refreshing, again it is jarred by lots of swearing words that should not be in a medieval/fantasy game. There is the possibility for romancing character but it's not as deep as I thought it would be, don't expect something major from it.The graphics are good, they're not empty so it's quite interesting to explore, however, the NPCs in this game are also useless. You walk in a village where only three people out of fifty can have interactions with you. Bestiary is diverse and interesting.Soundtrack- Hard to judge, some sounds are good and others are not so good.Final verdict- 6.5/10 it's a good game and a good way to spend time but it is jarred with couple of things such as limited character customisation, NPCs useless, companions useless, and a poorly chosen script between characters. Good things about this game is the crafting, level up tree, the gameplay (normal difficulty or above is necessary).It's quite a great achievement from Spiders since it's a small company, if I rated the game from this perspective I would give it a 8/10 and 5 stars.
Read more..

24.5.2014

I debated purchasing this for a couple of days after reading a LOT of mixed reviews. Most of the major game sites stated this game to be truly awful, whilst Amazon.co.uk reviews were quite positive. Eventually I decided to head to my local Game where they actually advised me not to buy it!! Did I listen? No. I went with my gut and bought it anyway. And I'm glad I did!!Although this game is by no means perfect, it is definitely a playable and fun game.The graphics are nothing special for a PS4 and there are definitely some negatives of this game. Which I will list:Voice acting - it is quite bad at times. The lead character "Vulcan" is especially void of emotion I feel. I have been playing as a female, so I'm not sure if the male character is any different. Some of the other characters throughout the game are the same. Despite this though, I actually really like Vulcan! Which I will get to in a second..Graphics - Not "next gen" standards to me. So perhaps it's better buying on the PS3?The game at times gets a little glitchy. But nothing major.Pros of the game?Story!! I absolutely LOVE the 'demon trying to take you over' story. The struggle between Vulcan and the fire demon is very interesting. At the beginning of the game, a demon gets inside of you and throughout the game, it tries its best to take you over. You can either forfeit your humanity and let it take you, or you can fight to keep your mind. It's cool! So much so, that I will be doing two playthroughs of the game. So far, I am keeping the demon at bay and fighting it..There's a lot to do. Lots of side-quests and the story is very fulfilling. So basically, you've got to put in a lot of hours to complete this. It's not one of those short games where it's done in a few hours.Customization. Although the actual character customization is very limited. (You choose between male and female, with a set of pre-made faces and a couple of different hair styles. Nothing major) However, you can customize your armour (Add knee pads, shoulder pads.. all different and with their own perks) and weapons (Daggers, sword, axe, mace, crossbow..) etc.I really do not know what else to say about this other than it's worth playing. Ignore the negative reviews and make your own opinion on it. I am glad I didn't listen to the guy in Game, as I am thoroughly enjoying this game and still have lots of hours to go..4/5Check it out. You won't be disappointed.
Read more..

17.5.2014

Made by a team of 30 in France, Spiders have made some low release games but nothing of this calibre across such a wide range of systems, PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, PC.If you're purchasing this game with a hope of it being anywhere near 'AAA', I hate that expression, then don't bother. What you have is a average to good, action RPG with a good skill tree, nice weighty combat and a surprising challenge. This game draws memories in production quality to Dragon Age: Origins, that is the level of game you are purchasing.Are the visuals amazing? No. Does it have a striking and unique art style? Yes. Think World of Warcraft with a hint of cell shading, ala Borderlands.The combat is good, it's hefty and makes you feel strong. There are balancing issues, lesser enemies deal way too much damage and you can become overwhelmed by smaller enemies. Other members of your party are about as useful as a poke in the eye. They deal little damage and perish very very easily. Other issues are unbalanced dialogue, but to be expected with an ambitious project and a small studio, also enemies being on a short tether, if you run too far away trying to replenish health, enemies will wonder off back to their path node starting point with full health. The bosses are fun, large scale enemies always add a nice variety to repetitive low level knee bitters that deal too much damage.You can get a sense from this review that the game is good, but, it requires a few patches to fix some balancing issues. If you're looking for an RPG on next gen consoles to pass the time this is well worth a buy, with its striking art style, hefty combat and super smooth frame rate. However, if you're after a super polished performance, don't bother.The issues of the game are not game breaking, just frustrating, however they can be overlooked and what you get in return is a fun, challenging, solid RPG experience.
Read more..

4.6.2014

I bought this game because its the only Rpg fantasy style game currently available for the PS4 & have to say I was not dissapointed. The story flows well, you play "Vulcan" a mercenary hired to protect the Red Scribes as they seek a way to defeat the Ice Lords, then something goes wrong & you end up getting possesed by a Demonic entity.The dialogue is excellent, the story contains several choices that have impact to the games story & there is a choice of several companions to assist you at various times.Characters progress by spending skill points in three skill trees,Warrior, Ranger & Pyromancer & hearby lies the rub, I went down the "ranger" (scouting/sneaking ) skill tree with a few Pyromancer skills but on the Final boss fight A cut scene prevented any chance of sneaking up & thereby negated most of my advantages, in the following fight I got my butt kicked fantastically (4 hits from the boss & I'm dead & I hit the boss with everything I had but did little damage) so I think the game is biased towards the Warrior skill tree (tho' I still got the "erudite love" achievement )Overall I spent several days enjoying this game but could not finish the final boss & am currently on a warrior specced replay, & would recommend this game happily
Read more..

17.6.2014

I really enjoyed this game. Is it a massive undertaking like Dragon Age of the same genre but you have to take it for what it is not what it isn't. First off it runs like a dream, you can sprint through the map with barely any loading and literally no lag or juddering. The graphics are not mind blowing but the world is certainly lush. The maps aren't huge and the game on the whole isn't huge in scope. I would describe it as an action RPG.The combat is fun and challenging I played the game on the highest difficulty and I found it to be unforgiving but fair, you really neee to fight carefully. At no point can you blast through a level killing everything every fight can kill you. The challenge is great but never too much. I found the characters amusing, Vulcan is a foul mouthed brute which is a nice change from the usual tortured hero theme one gets in these games. Playing through and doing all or most of the side quests took me 36 hours.Overall I would certainly recommend this flawed but quirky, fun and very playable leisurely stroll through the rpg genre.
Read more..

12.5.2014

If you go into this game expecting Skyrim, Dark Souls or Dragon Age you'll probably be disappointed, but if you have an open mind and are willing to overlook some minor bugs you will be satisfied with this game. It's similar to Kingdoms of Amalur or Sacred 2 on PS3 and the mechanics are comparable. The graphics could be better and it doesn't look much better than a PS3 game, but it is in no way a bad looking game and the environments are very detailed.The combat is not quite button-mashing,but it's also not so intricate that it will take a long time to master. It has all the usual RPG stuff - do a quest, pick up some materials, mix ingrediants, buy better weapons/armour etc. so don't expect a mental workout with this game.If you are looking for something to fill the void between now and ESO or the next Dragon Age then this will keep you entertained in the short term. If you are a hard core purist who likes nothing more than to nit-pick then don't bother as this game will frustrate you, but for the majority of us gamers it's an enjoyable little RPG.
Read more..

10.5.2014

I have only played a few hours so far, so this is not quite a final review, but more of a guideline for anyone looking at the game.The game is pretty fast paced, like a LotR game, but can be pretty punishing if you don't defend.So, it is pretty challenging. There's a skill tree that's pretty simple to understand. Level up and put points in whatever build you are aiming for.The graphics are a bit strange. Some things look fantastic where others do not.Overall, pretty good so far,but not quite a classic.On completion, I have to say this game is far better than what most critics gave it.Yes, the maps are quite limited, but the story and how your choices affect things is enough to keep things interesting.I enjoyed taking the demonic path through the game and enjoyed the game enough to play again, keeping my humanity.Aside from a few minor issues: Things spelt wrong in subtitles, some poor voice acting, and emotionless faces; the game is definitely worth a shot.
Read more..

10.5.2014

The story and lore so far seem to be pretty decent with a dragon age style lore book to read about all the chars etc making it pretty deep with understanding on each person or monster. The graphics on ps4 are pretty dam good, ive not yet compaired them to PC but id be supprised if they were lower at all, there was sometimes a slight bit of FPS lagg in a few small areas like with lots of smoke etc, but maybe this can be patches or become less of an issue later on,but the game runs good so far.Voice acting is actually pretty funny and good, its by no means super bad like people have said, in a way its more authentic and how it would sound in reality than a perfect studio acting. The armour looks really good and the crafting allows you to upgrade your chest etc with shoulders and belt and tassets to look cool and unique, same with weapons 3 upgrade slots on weps to customise theirs looks well.I would give the game on my first 2 hours 8/10 and worth buying.
Read more..

12.5.2014

At first glance when it started playing I thought what's this rubbish ! after setting off on my path i began to admire the strange style of Cel Shaded Scenery which reminded me a bit like borderlands (i love this style of graphics); The character models are not perfect but hey they are are not bad and again they grew on me.it game breaks you nicely adding more and more to the game as you level up by the time your 10 you will of discovered that the game is only just begining and there is lots more to come,from one time decisions which will change the path of the game or even kill off one of the story characters to quests where you have to say the correct answer the first time or fail that quest....the more i play this the more i love it and even begin thinking its better than dragon age as its very similar and same styleP.S. the EU version (not the UK version) comes with the standard efigs - english, french, italian, german and spanish Subtitles
Read more..

31.8.2014

This is a good game and I love the ideas behind it however I do feel like something was missing from it to make it a great game. I played it over a bored weekend where I spent most the day gaming and it took me the two days to complete it, the ending I felt was lacking and didn't really do much for me, the gameplay was fun and combat was easy to get the hang of, I wish there were more options for armour or even if there were armour classes so you could use light armours better for dagger focussedranger type fans and heavy armour for the powerhouse type fans instead you get a a speedy stealth character clunking around in loud heavy armour because its the only way to survive the game.All in all it was a good game I had fun playing it, it was similar to a dragon age style game just not as immersing, if you want to play it id recommend doing what I did and get a cheap used version
Read more..
Terms and ConditionsPrivacy Policy